Home » About Us » Committees

What are the AATB Committees?

The Standing Committees of the Association are the Certification Committee, formerly known as the American Board of Tissue Banking ("ABTB"), Accreditation Committee, Bylaws and Ethics Committee, Communications Committee, Education Committee, Finance Committee, Membership Committee, Nominating and Awards Committee, Program Committee, Scientific and Technical Affairs Committee (“STAC”), and the Standards Committee. Committees may adopt charters, and may establish criteria for membership, including for example, work-related, professional or other experience germane to the Committee’s responsibilities, provided that any such charter must be consistent with the Bylaws.

Accreditation Committee

The Accreditation Committee is responsible for the development of policies and materials for the administration of the Accreditation Program, including the application, processing, inspection, evaluation and approval of applicants for accreditation.

Diane Wilson, CTBS

Certification Committee

The Certification Committee is responsible for the development, review, update and evaluation of the Certified Tissue Banking Specialist (CTBS) examination.

Jeff Cox

Bylaws and Ethics Committee

The Bylaws and Ethics Committee is responsible for reviewing the Association’s Bylaws, which govern the membership and the affairs of the Association, and for recommending necessary revisions as provided in Article XIII.  The Committee is also responsible for the development and interpretation of the Association’s ethical codes, policies and statements.

Dean Elliott, Esq.

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee is responsible for the Association's communications activities and programs. The objective of the Communications Committee is to share best practices and foster collaboration, when appropriate, among communications representatives in the tissue banking profession. The group often collaborates on issues in the field of media relations and drafts talking points for spokespeople.

Cathy Koubek

Education Committee

The Education Committee is responsible for the development of various educational programs and documents, including webinars, training guides and provides additional support to AATB committees and councils as needed.

Louis Jares, CTBS

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for overseeing the Association’s finances, including accounting policies and practices, annual audits, budgets, financial reports and tax submissions.

Bryan McPhee

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is responsible for the recruitment and retention of Individual Members and Accredited Institutional Members.

Patrick AbdelMessih, CTBS

Mark DeFilippis, CTBS

Nominating and Awards Committee

The Nominating and Awards Committee is responsible for selecting candidates for election to fill the Association's offices in accordance with Article VIII. The Committee is also responsible for nominating individuals to the Board of Governors for the Association's annual awards.

Diane Wilson, CTBS

Program Committee

The Program Committee is responsible for developing the programs for the annual and periodic meetings of the Association as well as the various other workshops and seminars.

Chris Agle, CTBS

Scientific & Technical Affairs Committee (STAC)

Subject to prior approval of the Board of Governors, the Scientific and Technical Affairs Committee is responsible for the design and execution of AATB-sponsored research and the publication of any resulting data and/or conclusions. The Committee is also charged with reviewing, investigating and making recommendations to the Board of Governors on relevant scientific and technical questions.

Jeffrey Cartmell, Ph.D

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee is responsible for drafting, reviewing and providing recommendations to the Board of Governors for all standards, including variances thereto, and guidance documents.

Tim Maye, CTBS